powered by SignMyGuestbook.com



Language Log

Saturday, Oct. 01, 2005 - 7:27 a.m.

Yesterday I went to the syntax reading group, and it was more boring than ever. One guy said something funny about the theory just reifying everything as objects, and that was insightful, but the rest was crap. I don't know if I'll go any more. I think I like linguistics too much to put myself through that. Case schmase. I work on Bantu (if I can be said to work on anything), what do I care.

These poison oak pills hurt my kidneys, give me heartburn, and make me hyper. Can't wait till I'm off them. The rash is going away,though, I'm pleased to report.

Since I have to take them with food, they have been causing me to eat early breakfasts. I made some lemon-strawberry yeast bread to toast in the morning. Had it with my blueberry lavender jam I put up this summer-- mighty tasty. Makes me want to do more canning. Just how I need to spend my weekend.

This jewelry thing. Tomorrow is a wholesale bead show that I can go to. I want to, but I'm afraid this is all very silly. The economy sucks, and I have only one small venue for selling this stuff, and should probably not waste my time building up inventory that will only rot in the craft room for years. It's hard to justify.

But I like doing it, it makes me happy. Not hard to justify that. It's a lot of time I put into pretending I'm doing something goal-oriented, though.

I bought some of those pants I wanted yesterday, along with a nice warm skirt. Both are brown, so I'm all set for fall. Not to mention that black shoes in my size are still not available in town, so if I buy anything it had better be brown. But I find that I have no shirt to wear with the pants. I'm bad at planning ahead like that.

I want a pumpkin-colored sweater.

I want to bake things this weekend. To make a nice pot of soup to freeze for later, to can apple and pear butter, to dry herbs and fruits for later. I am so damn domestic.

previous next

Leave a note