powered by SignMyGuestbook.com



Language Log

Monday, Oct. 03, 2005 - 5:32 a.m.

Here I am, spontaneously awake at 5:30 am again. I actually woke up at 4:30, but lied in bed trying to go back to sleep and petting the kitty for an hour before I gave in. I hope it's just the medication and that I'm not turning into my mom, who often has this problem. (And let me tell you it made it difficult for me to sneak back into the house some mornings).

Went to the bead show and spent too much money on beads of dubious usefulness (I realize now. What am I gonna do with this stuff? I should have bought fabric dye instead. Mostly dyed pearls, to work into those earrings that no one is buying).

Went to the fancy mall and bought some expensive yet slightly inelegant-looking shoes. Black, hooray. In my size, which is apparently not a 10 1/2 edging into 11 on my left foot, but an 11 edging into a 11 1/2. Great. Anyway, I have 30 days to return them as long as I just wear them around inside the house. Of course, wearing them around inside will a) drive me nuts since I can't abide wearing shoes in the house, and b) tell me next to nothing about how they'll do after walking 2 miles in them at a fast clip.

Also traded in my birthday goods at Coldwater Creek. I feel that I'm probably still young enough to not have to shop there, I should be buying fun sexy stuff at younger stores, but, eh. Go where the gift credit is, I guess. I consider it all teaching gear, anyway. Shirts. None of them in pumpkin; my pumpkin plans were foiled.


previous next

Leave a note