powered by SignMyGuestbook.com



Language Log

Sunday, Oct. 09, 2005 - 4:08 p.m.

Oh, so long since I've updated. Apologies.

1. We saw Alton Brown at an appliance store promo in Indy yesterday, and got him to sign a couple of his books as gifts for J's mom and brother. He was witty and entertaining, just as he is paid to be. We also split one of the cookies he baked.

2. We went clothes shopping afterward. I am officially the next size down. I like it muchly, it being a size that cute clothes are available in. How long has it been since I was this size? I think the last time was 1995. It is delightful.

3. We went on our annual pumpkin acquisition run, and came away with seven various squashes. A cheese pumpkin, a pie pumpkin, a Halloween pumpkin, a Cinderella pumpkin, a white pumpkin, a grey Hubbard and a golden Hubbard. I like pumpkins. I have grand plans for these.

4. It's chilly today, and all I want to do is bake things. I am, however, being fairly disciplined and trying to write on my paper. My advisor sent me a "well, so where is it, then?" email, and so I need to whip it into something presentable enough at least to let him scrutinize. I'm about to the point where I really can't progress without getting feedback, so I need to bite the bullet and do it. No Fear.

5. Well, I was thinking anyway, I feel pretty in control of things these days, everything except this paper (and, uh, transitively, the rest of my graduate career that hangs on it). It would be nice to feel in control of the entire set of things that I do have control over (small as that set is). So I'm workin on it, I'm workin on it.

previous next

Leave a note