powered by SignMyGuestbook.com



Language Log

Monday, Oct. 24, 2005 - 4:00 p.m.

This stupid offiec computer does the thing where pops up a "you are leaving a site blah blah blah do you want to continue" dialog box and another one where it tries to remember all your passwords, so half the time you have to click 'yes continue dammit' and the other half the time it's the 'no dammit don't remember my password' and it never EVER listens when you tell it to stop asking dammit. As a result, I keep accidentally saving my email password on my office computer.

So I keep going in to try to fix it, only to find that a) passwords are stored under user accounts, which I can't access since I'm not an administrator, and b) the help info only tells you how to save passwords and warns you not to save them if you're using a shared computer, but does not give any indication of how you might compel the computer to forget your password if you have saved it in error.

Geez.

And another thing, I think greeting cards are nice and thoughtful but they should not be any sort of obligation. If you HAVE to send a card declaring that you've been thinking of someone on such-and-such an occasion, it removes some/most of the sincerity. All it shows is that you're persnickety about observing certain occasions for card-sending, not that you would have thought of the person otherwise.

Now, anyone who's ever gotten a greeting card from a no-card-writing-lameass like me knows that that card really counts-- it may be that five years of thinking fondly (and perhaps guiltily) of someone will result in maybe one card being sent. Whereas these compulsory card senders only had to think of someone for long enough to scrawl a reminder in their card-sending appointment book, and then sign their name on a card. Not the hours nay days of real time effort that goes into a single card from me. And yet who gets all the credit? Those lazy must-send-a-card-for-every-occasion types!

What? It's true!! I'm just resisting hegemony, here.

previous next

Leave a note