powered by SignMyGuestbook.com



Language Log

Tuesday, Nov. 15, 2005 - 7:55 a.m.

My dear friend A's mom has gotten worse-- now it's leukemia, and A has had to face the fact that she'll die soon. I'm going to FL in December, of course- but will she still be there then? Who knows? So I want to write her a note--I would feel like crap if she died and I never said goodbye. But I have no idea what to say.

I wonder what would be comforting to me under such circumstances. Anything would certainly be better than nothing. Denying the situation would be laughable, but not in a good way. Sappiness, while seemingly inevitable, would get old quick. I don't know about her, but I would be annoyed. Everyone clustering around all dewy-eyed all the time.

But what is it I want to say, anyway? A slightly-pre-mortem sympathy letter to the soon-to-be-deceased?

I just need to do something, is all.

previous next

Leave a note