powered by SignMyGuestbook.com



Language Log

Saturday, Nov. 19, 2005 - 7:28 a.m.

My Swahili conversation buddy had a kegger last night. Me and the other Swahili conversationalist went. It's true; I still don't like parties. Not even party-parties, where people are yelling "woo", dancing, and there's some jerk swigging Mad Dog and doing whippets. Nope, just not a party person, though I'm sure it was a fun one by the standards of people who like 'fun'.

Oh, well. At least I got out of the house on a Friday for once.

I bought a very nice jacket at TJ Maxx. I am delighted with it. I still have only a small range of jackets of the functional type: one insulated brown suede one for when it is freezing outside; one quilted black one with a hood that J's mom gave me out of pity when I first came to meet them and she didn't think my sweater jacket was going to be sufficient. It is also very warm, but is big and bulky and the hood makes my hair tangle in the worst way. So now I have this new jacket, which is small, wool, and stylish. How exciting.

We're hosting Thanksgiving again this year. Must begin the planning (and cleaning) in earnest today, I guess.

previous next

Leave a note