powered by SignMyGuestbook.com



Language Log

Sunday, Jan. 08, 2006 - 8:49 a.m.

We're back. What a relief to be home again. From a distance I can be compassionate, which I can't be when close up. On the bright side, I did manage to get along with my mom the whole time, which I often have trouble doing for a week straight. I feel good about that. I managed to prevent my brother from accompanying me to the airport by simply asking if he would be able to not smoke for a whole hour because I didn't want to smell like smoke for the rest of the day. He couldn't of course, so stayed home. "That's a lot to ask." he said. I know, Ray, anything is a lot to ask of you.

Anyway.

I managed to not gain weight over the break! I think that's a first. I think if anything I lost weight while in Florida (that magical combination of stress, boring food that you don't want seconds of, and daily hour-long walks on the beach), and gained a couple pounds back on return to Memphis. (Barbecue)

But, now, classes start tomorrow, and I'm not ready for that. I need at least another week. I need to work hard this semester. On everything.

previous next

Leave a note