powered by SignMyGuestbook.com



Language Log

Wednesday, Feb. 08, 2006 - 6:48 a.m.

I tried to update yesterday, but the page wouldn't open, and now I have no idea what I was going to say.

I bit the hell out of my tongue when eating dinner last night, and it is still numb this morning.

The reading group with the psychology people went well. They still make me nervous. They're all like, "yeah, what do we even need semantic roles for?" and I'm all like, "hey don't question my assumptions, man.". Crazy shit.

This puzzle is still bothering me:

I saw something strange.
* I saw a girl strange.
* I saw the barista strange.

I guess some people claim that there is movement involved in determiners like 'some'. I mean, * I saw strange something, too. But I dunno. I wonder what kids make of it, is all.

I'm involved mostly in reading lately, and working on things. I can't talk about anything else. If I work as hard as I need to at this to make any headway, I become un-fun.

I am supposed to go to dinner with a speaker next week, and my advisor will probably be there so I MUST finish my paper this weekend so when he asks how it's going I can report that I am just formatting the references. Plus I hear other people talking about how both their papers are due in May or whatever, and I realize they've given me a lot of slack already. And I'm ready to move on to the acquisition project, anyway.

I finished another necklace-- a rather elaborate one. I like it. I also discovered that I can use the nail buffing pad my mom gave me for Christmas to polish the nicks out of metal findings that I've made. And I thought it wasn't going to be very useful! Hoorah!

previous next

Leave a note