powered by SignMyGuestbook.com



Language Log

Sunday, Feb. 26, 2006 - 8:58 a.m.

Went to a party last night. I really should just stop trying in the party department. I find it so deeply unpleasant and stressful, even when it goes fine. I don't know what to say to people. My mind is absorbed in two or three things, none of which make especially good conversation. I spend the whole time focused on how I should be interacting with people, because there's no opportunity to interact with them in a way that is natural for me. I can entertain myself fine, thanks, but I just can't entertain others in a party setting. I come out of it feeling so inadequate. I keep trying to be a good sport, but.

It was a chocolate party. Everyone brought something chocolate. That part was fun. I brought french silk pie, which by the time I left had only been 1/4 eaten (I didn't think ahead-- parties, pie not so compatible really-- should have done mini-tarts). There was no way to sample everything, there was so much.

Today I will exercise on the bicycle, work on a jewelry piece I'm doing, work on my Paper, work on my report for L2, make chili, and try to stay awake enough to pick J up at the airport at 11:30pm.

previous next

Leave a note