powered by SignMyGuestbook.com



Language Log

Tuesday, Mar. 07, 2006 - 7:01 a.m.

I've been lazy about updating. And I've let my gold membership expire. I'll renew it later, but right now I don'wanna.

Went to the doctor and had an ultrasound to see if any of the rebellious cells had formed colonies in the jungle paradise near my ovaries. They had not. I am relieved. It is easier to crush a movement like this when they aren't well organized. Wednesday I go in to have the ones they spotted hanging out on my cervix removed. I am not worried. Early detection. These are just discontents, anyway, not full blown revolutionaries. They have no weapons, just their books and photocopied poems.

Maybe I shouldn't put it like that, it sort of makes me root for the dysplasia.

Anyway. We had dinner the other night with Really Famous Philosopher Guy. He talked a lot, and was interesting. Good stories, but...I don't think I like famous people. Is that wrong of me?

What else...friends who used to live here but moved came to visit. I've been reading a lot and working on my project for the class. Spring is almost here. I can't wait for it to arrive for real. Can I say, spring is arriving? Raise your hand if that is grammatical in your variety of English.

I've been fretting a lot over whether that business (yes, the "it is arriving" business) is a matter of pragmatics, formal semantic derivation, or another type of event structure entirely. And what that would mean for everyone concerned.

This is why I have not updated lately.

previous next

Leave a note