powered by SignMyGuestbook.com



Language Log

Monday, Mar. 27, 2006 - 5:09 p.m.

Man. One Of Those Days.

I started by frantically trying to translate my elicitation task back into English so I could get feedback from my prof. Got it done in the nick of time, and she liked it! she really liked it! I'm so proud.

But then I had to go pick up J at the airport, and from then on it was frantic. Airport=1 hour away-- he was getting in at 12:45, and I had a doctor's appointment at 2:10, and we wanted to squeeze lunch in at some point.

Lunch was realized as Wendy's drive-through (pardon me, 'thru'). I made it to my appointment 15minutes late, feeling frantic and annoyed, and then proceeded to wait. And wait. And go into a little room, take off my pants, and wait. And wait. My office hours were at 4, and it was 3:45 and still there I was, pantless, no doc to be seen. I poked my head out and politely threatened to leave, and in she came, running an hour and a half late today on her schedule. I felt bad; surely she was more frantic than me, but still. It was over quickly (healing up nicely thank you) and I rushed frantically to my office, visions of throngs of annoyed, unforgiving undergraduates waiting outside my office.

Of course, when I arrived, no one was here. Nor has anyone popped in the whole time. I think I should just stop caring, whaddaya think?

previous next

Leave a note