powered by SignMyGuestbook.com



Language Log

Tuesday, Apr. 25, 2006 - 4:59 p.m.

Kind of a crummy day. Wet. Rainy. Most of the day spent with wet pants, wet shoes, wet socks. And chilly. Blech. I had an umbrella, but it wasn't big enough.

And I've been screwing up lately. You know when you think you're doing the right thing, but you were wrong, and then it bites you in the ass? When you think you know the answer and give it confidently and then it turns out that you were wrong, and you discover that your error has made things difficult for a number of people? People who have rearranged their summer on the assumption that you were giving them good info, but you weren't, so the joke is on them? (It's not like I didn't ask; I forwarded my response to the dept secretary, who did not correct me, but who now is not admitting that she knew anything about it, and I'm not going to be the one to say she did). Or when you are told that it is VERY important nay CRUCIAL to call something an "activity fee" not an "application fee" just a week after you have sent out 100 emails to people calling it an application fee? And all of it is unintentional but you can't blame people for being a bit fed up, one thing after another.

I try to be efficient, but wow. I'm not very good at it. My efforts lead me astray, big time. I don't have the right instincts. Just call me Lingua "not a very good administrator" Franca.

And, still no letter about my funding. The suspense is killing me.

previous next

Leave a note