powered by SignMyGuestbook.com



Language Log

Sunday, Apr. 30, 2006 - 4:42 p.m.

I dunno, I think the theoretical lit review part of my paper may be a little bit skimpy. My advisor didn't say anything about that when I sent him the draft, though. Does that mean it's okay, or that he wasn't really paying attention, and when he reads it carefully it'll be a big red flag? I don't know what else to say about it, is the thing.

I watched Recipe For Success this afternoon. That show always makes me want to quit school and open a food business of some kind. I'm pretty into school right now, and still it has this effect on me.

Talked to my mom today. I have to go help her move at the end of May. Bet you can guess how much I'm looking forward to that. Anyway, whenever I tell her that J is away at a conference, she's always like "Oh! Again! My goodness! How do you feel about that? Well, I guess it must be nice for you to have a break from each other! Absence makes the heart grow fonder hah hah!" It's so annoying. No, absence does not make the heart grow fonder. I'm already maximally fond, see, so absence isn't doing anything for it. But she seems to think that it has to be a huge deal somehow-- either I hate it and am miserable, or am relieved that he's gone and out of my hair. No room there for the reality, that all things considered I would like to be with him but, eh, comes with the territory. I've tried to explain that it's y'know, his job, it's part of what academics do if they want to get tenure and be active in their fields. It sucks, but in much the same way that having to get up in the morning to go to work sucks. I just wish she'd quit acting so surprised every time I tell her he's gone for the weekend. It isn't news, y'know? I think it's that she just doesn't have a clue what it is that we do here in the ivory tower. She understands the going and teaching classes part, but that's about it.

previous next

Leave a note