powered by SignMyGuestbook.com



Language Log

Monday, Jun. 19, 2006 - 1:01 p.m.

I'm sleepy...

First day of the language program today. It's always such an anticlimax for me-- I feel like I've been getting to know these people for the better part of a year now, working hard to make this a good experience for them, and I've read their statements of purpose and exchanged emails with many of them...mostly interesting people. Then they arrive and it's over. They don't know me from Adam, and they don't care to. It's sort of silly, but it's true. I'm like "hey, I'm a linguist too! Hey, I'm an Africanist too!" and they're like "What? Whatever. Is my registration sorted out? Where do I get my books?"

My class started today. It went eh. I dunno.

I'm sleepy. Oh, I said that already.

previous next

Leave a note