powered by SignMyGuestbook.com



Language Log

Wednesday, Jun. 28, 2006 - 1:01 p.m.

I got snippy with my students today. This is the first time I have ever done that. I feel sort of guilty. But justified. And I hope that I'm not tempted to do it again this semester.

I mean, we were working on the damn Cree problem all morning, to the point where they all looked just so bored. But we shift topics away ever so slightly for a few minutes to teach them how to write a phonological rule, and suddenly it's as though they'd never seen the Cree problem before in their life. So I snarked. I viciously called on people who I suspected would not know the answer. Etc. Snark snark. "Come on, people, we've been working on this problem all morning. VOICELESS OBSTRUENTS."

I just wonder if it will work for me. I guess if you do it in the right way, it gets you some respect. Do it in the wrong way, and they just feel picked on. I guess it's a good thing that I'm no longer so worried about whether they like me?

Today is a Hate All People day.

previous next

Leave a note