powered by SignMyGuestbook.com



Language Log

Tuesday, Jul. 04, 2006 - 9:12 a.m.

Woke up this morning to a BBC report on mosquito research. Apparently they isolated the compound on the skin that makes some people less interesting to mosquitoes. Had a bit of a flashback. I miss working at the lab sometimes-- it was boring, smelly, my boss was a pain, I was underpaid, and I could never take time off, but. See how things look so much better when they are over and done with.

Well, and plus. Tell people you work in a mosquito lab and you always have something to talk about. It's glamorous, the entomology business. Not so with linguistics.

Happy 4th of July. This may be the least celebratory 4th of July for me, ever. J is away, and I have to write an exam and type up teacher evaluations for tomorrow.

I was going to make me a cherry pie, but my cheeries up and went bad over the weekend. Poo.

previous next

Leave a note