powered by SignMyGuestbook.com



Language Log

Saturday, Jul. 29, 2006 - 7:43 a.m.

People are all the time talking about this language or that language and saying things like "It's a really old language.". That's not an issue that gets addressed in introductory ling classes very often, I don't think, so it keeps on. I don't know what they think it means, to say a langauge is 'old'. I mean, English is sort of unusual in having a born-on date. Most other languages, though, don't, and when someone says a language is 'old', I always worry that they think it hasn't changed at all.

Anyway. Oh, I stopped by the Perambulating Chelonian. She had just received a shipment of wooden turtle glasses holders. They were pretty nifty. Also, more than half of my stuff has sold now. Excellent!

previous next

Leave a note