powered by SignMyGuestbook.com



Language Log

Wednesday, Aug. 09, 2006 - 1:38 p.m.

Ugh, ok, done with that. I bet my evaluations will be fabulous.

I saw an episode of The Grim Adventures of Billy and Mandy yesterday in which Mandy enters a beauty pageant (really!). It all hinges on getting her to smile, and they just can't do it, until, at the very end, at the end of her rendition of "Somewhere over the rainbow" (really! And she does it in just the way that I would render the song myself if pressed to do so. Seethingly.), she manages. And all hell breaks loose. I'll say no more.

I feel that way about me being enthusiastic in class. It just isn't me, and if you don't like it, you can stick it. I always get these comments to the effect of "she seems like she doesn't really want to be here". Which I say, is a) very astute of them, and b) a ridiculous thing to comment on-- I would never think to include such information in an evaluation of a teacher, who the hell cares if they want to be there or not, as long as they teach okay when they are there? Oh, and c), Maybe I'm just not an enthusiastic person, okay? So fuck off.

Well, I resisted the urge to address The Student as "fuckwad", so I consider myself to have triumphed in one small way. The other students may never be aware of my heroism (though I suspect the the student in question may be very aware.)

previous next

Leave a note