powered by SignMyGuestbook.com



Language Log

Saturday, Aug. 26, 2006 - 9:36 a.m.

Farmer's market day! The plums have materialized, as have pears, and the peaches are at a point where they are perfect upon buying; no need to wait a day or two for them to ripen. There are still some blackberries lurking in the stands, and the apples are beginning to emerge. All the peppers are red. The yellow pear tomatoes that made me cry were gone, but I tried this new variety of pale greenish yellow cherry tomatoes that are almost as good.

I will be making some jam today. I went with peaches and plums: the pears will wait. No need to overfruit myself.

People gasp that I have time to make jam, make jewelry. You know what? I don't care. Seasons are fleeting. I absolutely refuse to be one of these people (often marketed-to) who are characterized by their busyness, their "on-the-go" lifestyle, who need to be reminded to slow down and enjoy life. I've heard these lessons all my life, I get it, I have made it my policy to take it pretty easy, and if that makes everything take twice as long as it could, so be it. I like it better this way, and what is there to hurry for? I reject the notion that I should not make time to do all the things I enjoy on a regular basis. I refuse to defer pleasure.

So there. Nyah.

previous next

Leave a note