powered by SignMyGuestbook.com



Language Log

Wednesday, Sept. 13, 2006 - 5:54 a.m.

Every morning I make a round through the internet. I have a fairly short list, but it gives my brain time to wake up. Today there was, like, nothing. When that happens, it's worse than when there's a lot to read--I just keep browsing until I find something. Much time is wasted, and no edification occurs.

So today I thought I'd add my two cents, in case any of my faithful readers are having the same problem. Here's a little material. Very little.

Mostly all I have to say these days can be categorized as belonging to one of the following small set of themes:

1. I'm tired.
2. I hate teaching these stupid ESL classes.
3. I hate prescriptive grammar now more than ever.
4. My qual paper is, once again, not getting written.

That's it, that's all I've got. Lather. Rinse. Repeat.

previous next

Leave a note