powered by SignMyGuestbook.com



Language Log

Sunday, Sept. 17, 2006 - 7:41 a.m.

Ooh, a weekend at home. How very novel. I'm enjoying a nice cup of morning tea and languishing in front of the computer for a while before beginning the day's tasks, of which there are several, since I was all in all pretty lazy yesterday.

The best news first. Stop me if I've mentioned it already (I don't think I have, here), but I had a nice meeting with the awesome professor, who has agreed (unless I completely misunderstood the speech act) to chair my dissertation committee. I'm not sure, but I think that just having her on my committee increases my future marketability by something like 80%, all else being equal. I made that up, but you get the idea.

Anyway, she liked my project, and liked the idea of doing more than one non-Indo-European language for it. So, full speed ahead.

Um, what else. Well, writing the above has given me the urge to work on my paper, which I feel that I should not defer. So, more later, maybe.

previous next

Leave a note