powered by SignMyGuestbook.com



Language Log

Monday, Oct. 02, 2006 - 2:56 p.m.

I went to bed at 11 last night, but woke up at 3:15. The alarm wasn't set until 4, but there I was. Came home after class and slept for another hour or two; I could go back to sleep right now. Bimodal sleep distribution.

J suggested that perhaps it is this teaching load, these particular classes, that were the last straw. I'm not sure, but he may be right.

I have tentatively made the decision; well, one decision is made, the one about the dissertation is pending. I will try it out for a couple of weeks, try to finish up my qual paper. If I can't bring myself to do that, then the dissertation is right out. If I can, I will take stock again and see how I feel. When I want out, I tend to really want out.

I love pretending that I'm going to quit and play with art supplies full time. It's very liberating. It still feels like pretending, though. I have a vision of me as Homer Simpson on Big Rock Candy Mountain, only instead of candy, there are art supplies.

Speaking of art supplies, went to the wholesale bead show yesterday. Shiny. Good.

previous next

Leave a note