powered by SignMyGuestbook.com



Language Log

Tuesday, Oct. 24, 2006 - 2:31 p.m.

Heard from my old friend who I sent the box of jewelry to-- it made it safe and sound, I'm glad to report. She has already sold one pair of earrings, thinks the prices are right, thinks they're beautiful! (Well, they are!)

I told her about my Plan. She was very nice and full of mom-like advice (well, not MY-mom-like advice, but you know what I mean). She's a very "the universe will bring you what you think of, so think good thoughts" sort of person. A lot of the time that sort of thing is silly, but sometimes it's just nice.

Anyway, it was good to tell someone, a relatively safe someone, as a first step to telling people who may not be so automatically affirming.

My voice is in the fritz, though; when I answered the phone I had just woken from a nap, and sounded like Harvey Fierstein. I almost sang a number from Hairspray to make the best of it.

previous next

Leave a note