powered by SignMyGuestbook.com



Language Log

Tuesday, Nov. 14, 2006 - 6:03 p.m.

I wish my students wouldn't end their emails with things like, "Please respond as soon as you get this" "Please write back immediately when you read this". I think it's too late to mention it in class now, they would feel picked on. It's a pragmatic thing they haven't gotten yet, but damn, is it annoying. It isn't just one person, it's most of them who do this. Grrr.

I don't know how I like this still-in-the-game status. I felt so free when I felt done with it...now the guilt is back. Things I should read. People I should talk to to officially ask for extensions. I feel demotivated in all spheres. Its like a miniature, much blander version of almost making it to the border, only to be turned back by the Minutemen.

Maybe it's just that time of the semester.

previous next

Leave a note