powered by SignMyGuestbook.com



Language Log

Tuesday, Feb. 06, 2007 - 4:40 p.m.

Well, it snowed, I decided that I would probably die if I tried to drive anywhere, and the co-op's meeting was rescheduled anyway. So, maybe next week. I'm feeling pessimistic about the whole thing now. Whenever something is this much trouble, it ultimately fails, so as to mock my efforts.

Now I am parked very very far away from where I am. I am hungry, but I don't want to go into the snow until I absolutely have to. I also have to pee, but going to pee is often a transitional move for me, so I don't want to do it until I know what I'm going to do afterward. At 5:30 I am scheduled to have coffee with my KiSwahili pal, but we're meeting at Starbucks this week and it's always crowded, so if I go there early I may just end up standing around for 45 minutes. Also, I forgot to put on my watch today, so unless I stay at this computer, I won't know when to expect things to happen. Or when to do things.

And the psychologists today didn't believe anything I had to say about Swahili because I only got my information from a few native speakers and standard textbooks, not through a nice large randomized study.

And I never got to have lunch.

previous next

Leave a note