powered by SignMyGuestbook.com



Language Log

Wednesday, Feb. 28, 2007 - 8:06 p.m.

I listed my goofy linguist earrings. One pair, anyway. Now I don't know how to get the word out about them to the female phonologist crowd. I emailed one friend about it, but I feel weird about it, like she'll think I'm telling her just because I hope she'll buy it. I'm not really hoping that. I'm hoping that she'll go ga-ga over their dorky goodness and tell every phonologist she knows (and she knows a lot, because unlike me she actually goes to conferences), and then I will have hordes of phonologists coming to my site begging me to make earrings for them, too. And after them will come the semanticists, because I still have a modal item on the list of things to make, and then the analytic philosophers and so on and then soon I am providing the academic world at large with some of the most outrageous educational/in-joke jewelry ever.

That's all.

Why would word spread from phonologists to semanticists? You're right, that is improbable. Maybe via morphologists and the syntacticians, and THEN it would get to the semanticists.

I did not order the envelopes, but I did order more silkscreens. I would like to make IPA notecards, with an IPA symbol instead of an initial or monogram.

I was going to say something else. What? Hrm. Never mind.

previous next

Leave a note