powered by SignMyGuestbook.com



Language Log

Wednesday, Mar. 28, 2007 - 7:20 p.m.

I went for a walk the other day and got blisters on the pads of my feet. It sucked. It's not as if I haven't been walking AT ALL all winter. They're mostly gone away now.

I have been enjoying making things with squares. Squares and bright colors. I sent a shipment off to a boutique this morning. Now I have nothing left, so I'm once more motivated to Make Stuff. When I have a lot on hand, I find that I can't figure out exactly where to put my energy.

My mother with the help of her friend, looked at my site. She was very excited about all the other things she saw that she 'didn't know I made'. Like what? I asked. Come to find out she had been browsing through my favorites, i.e., other sellers' stuff that I hearted. No, I forgot to tell her about that letterpress/ glassblowing torch/ sewing machine/ knitting that I've taken up. *sigh*

Then, given my style of communication with her (less is more), maybe it wasn't a ridiculous assumption after all. Anyway, I was a little sad that she was so excited about all my stuff, only to find out it wasn't really my stuff she was excited about. She didn't especially comment on any of my ACTUAL items.

And of course the hard part is trying to explain to her what had actually taken place. She just lacks the conceptual machinery. If it's somehow linked to my site, it must me mine, right?

In funny teaching news, the prof introduced CP to our class in the last five minutes of lecture yesterday.

*sigh* again.

That reminds me-- we're giving a test tomorrow and I just realized that I do not know how I will come upon my copies of said test. Hmm.

previous next

Leave a note