powered by SignMyGuestbook.com



Language Log

Tuesday, Apr. 03, 2007 - 8:00 a.m.

I was up till 2am grading syntax tests. I'm not done-- I still have to do the bonus question.

They had to do a lot with constituency tests, and I found myself wondering on a couple occasions whether the people in the prof's section had been taught some secret constituency test that I don't know about because I'm not that good at syntax. They kept switching word order as if that tells you something. Does it? Sometimes it does, like with adjuncts, but within a phrase? I don't think so. Hope I don't embarrass myself in the grading.

Almost my entire class made the same mistake, too (a different one, involving the substitution test). I think that MUST be my fault. (I gave them credit)

I just inhaled my tea and had to cough a mouthful of tea all over the floor. I guess I should try to concentrate, here.

Florida: *chomp chomp*

previous next

Leave a note