powered by SignMyGuestbook.com



Language Log

Wednesday, Apr. 18, 2007 - 12:50 p.m.

A two-entry day. Huzzah!

1. There is a group on Facebook called What Would Henry Rollins Do? I find this to be a good question. I think he may be my hero. I'm not normally the sort of person who has heroes-- it's dangerous. I admire thigns people do, and when some people do a lot of good things, they rack up points, but still don't qualify as 'heroes'. But Rollins. I don't think about him much, but when I do, I am inevitably forced to the conclusion once again that he is sensible, raucous, and sincere in just the right combination of ways. And that pretty much everything he does is the awesomest possible thing that someone could do.

That said, I'm not sure how to answer the question, How would Henry Rollins run this discussion section? Or How would Henry Rollins teach Subjacency? But it is interesting to consider.

2. Thanks to certain friends pushing me in just the right way, I find myself suddenly launched into a period of renewed infatuation with my research. I've been writing daily for a couple days now, and reading and thinking about the problem. Kinda good. My little break may have given me just what I need.

As long as I like it, I'll do it with all my heart; when I don't like it anymore I'll either change what I'm doing or say fuck it. I'm free either way.

I think that's the sort of thing Henry Rollins would do.

previous next

Leave a note