powered by SignMyGuestbook.com



Language Log

Sunday, May. 20, 2007 - 7:33 a.m.

Looks like I've let my gold membership expire again. Well, when I get back I'll renew, I promise.

We're still in Memphis. Going home tomorrow-- we delayed the whole thing so that I can go to the bead store in Nashville on the way. It's a very good bead store.

Mostly I have been making things-- getting a lot of work done, actually-- Except for yesterday when I was sick for no apparent reason. Nauseous and a bad headache, and of course everyone was secretly hoping that I was pregnant. I'm not sure how I feel about being sick and having everyone hope that I'll be sick again tomorrow. But I am not. I feel fine today, thank you.

One funny thing-- my upbringing was a little...traditional...when it comes to the discussion of certain bodily processes. Certain things are not really up for discussion, and I kind of like it that way. I know that it may not match much of what you know about my personality, but there's really nothing I can do at this point to change. (Well, actually I like to keep lots of things private-- I don't like my mother really knowing what I'm thinking, for example). In principle, I like the idea of being open about such things-- I certainly hope I will be with my hypothetical children-- there are both feminist and practical reasons to do so-- but at the same time, I'm deeply uncomfortable with discussing such things with my mother (which is fine with her-- she's how I got this aesthetic, after all). The in-laws, on the other hand, are medical folks and are perfectly uninhibited from discussing any detail of...well, anything, as far as I can tell. But me, I'd rather not my father-in-law, doctor or no, be inquiring as to whether my breasts are tender. And it's only going to get worse. They're very open people, medical professionals who like to know the relevant details so that they can help...not a good combination with someone like me who would prefer to keep some things my own dang business. And who doesn't always like to be helped.

Anyway, not a big deal for now, but it's one of the things I truly dread about any future pregnancy. As if I needed anything else to dread about pregnancy, right? That's what I'm sayin.

Speaking of help, though, they took me to a wholesale packaging place and ordered my jewelry boxes and bags for the shows. Also some spiffy stickers with my logo on them to affix to said boxes and bags, and some tissue paper for decorative purposes. I'll have the spiffiest packaging ensemble at the show, mark my words. I'm very excited.

previous next

Leave a note