powered by SignMyGuestbook.com



Language Log

Thursday, May. 24, 2007 - 10:35 a.m.

Last week I bought two books of poetry, one by Billy Collins and one by Auden. I like poetry. So long I spent without time for poetry. (thumbs nose at the linguistics department as if it were their fault)

When we left for Memphis, it was late spring here; when we returned it was suddenly summer. Already my oregano is thinking about sending up flower stalks. My garden is a mess this year. Very little cilantro, though-- I guess it sprouted and then got frozen again. But the garlic chives have taken up where the cilantro left off. The garlic chives and, less usefully, the pennyroyal, which was the worst mistake I've ever made in terms of planting. But the garlic chives, now I can just pull them up by the handful when I want some. Before I guarded them rather jealously.

previous next

Leave a note