powered by SignMyGuestbook.com



Language Log

Sunday, Jun. 03, 2007 - 6:20 a.m.

First day of show went pretty well. Made back the booth fee (important) and then some. I guess I'm pretty pleased given that the crowd was rather light. A steep learning curve for a little while there (yes, you should be able to get to the boxes in case someone does want to buy something).

Earrings. Earrings with words, especially. I need to make more.

I also should make a line just from recycled paper-- people keep asking if I make the paper and I have to say no. I'm like,"I can,I do make paper, but it's not strong enough to hold up to this process so I don't use it in my jewelry". It'd be nice to have a distinct line just made of handmade paper.

I need to work on my object construction narrative. I need, as J put it, a spiel. (Not a glockenspiel).

Now I must avoid spending all my earnings on felted soap and beads (there is one bead merchant there). Or even roving. I don't know what to do with it, but it's soft and fuzzy and often brightly colored. Mmmm, roving. It's fuzzy like Vindaloo, but not as squirmy and squawky.

Today, I'm keeping my expectations low again. That worked out pretty well for me yesterday, and I was pleased. Today everyone will be in church and we'll probably be sitting on our hands in our uncomfortable chairs until well after brunch.

previous next

Leave a note