powered by SignMyGuestbook.com



Language Log

Friday, Oct. 19, 2007 - 8:51 p.m.

Tonight I am fascinated with gelatinous desserts. Custard, pudding, panna cotta. I made a nice chocolate custard for two; alas, I will have eaten the second portion before J returns. (I can make another, don't worry). I also ate the leftover potpie that I made before I left last week; hop eit was still good. It's been about an hour now, so far so good.

Well, trip-wise, I did manage to get along with my mother, mostly-- I was wearing a bit thin by the end, but my shell held up. She has the most annoying friends. Friends who call 2-3 times a day and drop in unannounced, and then stay for an hour carrying on the whole time with some sort of ghastly monologue about everything that has/is/will go badly or gruesomely in their life and health. You hear about their bad real estate deals, problems with their husband's children, their mother's tragic disfiguration and strong will and daughters who have been in car wrecks and who have breast cancer and autistic children with liver problems, sons who have died in motorcycle accidents and grandchildren whose mothers beat them and who will not allow them to see their grandmother. Then you get to hear their political opinions. It was a joy, let me tell you. Reminds me of what I liked about the ivory tower. (What am I in now, as an artist? A rainbow tower?)

Hahah. My mom, the other week, I was talking to her on the phone, mentioned my friend Jenny, and she said, "Oh, I just LOVE Jenny...she was always so sweet, and she's turned out so...thin. I mean, her mother and father were both big people, but she's just always kept in great shape."

Pathological.

Anyway.

previous next

Leave a note