powered by SignMyGuestbook.com



Language Log

Thursday, Dec. 13, 2007 - 12:01 a.m.

Apparently I am still working on Las Vegas time.

I'm very tired now, but I just had to share the joy. Some time ago I bought a used paper cutter for $10 at a department store that was being closed. I tried to cut a sheet or two with it, it didn't work so well, so I left it in the basement for the last 4 years or so.

Now I want to make some prints and cards and stuff and so rather than buy a new one, I figured I'd see what needed to be done to rehabilitate the one I have.

Turns out it's a top-of-the-line professional cutter that lists for $1100 (but you can get it for $750 on the internet!), and after a little fiddling all I had to do to make it work was 1) rotate the piece of wood the the blade makes contact with and 2) try cutting more than 1 piece of paper at a time. It will cut a stack of 200 sheets; once you make the stack more than about 5 sheets thick, it cuts like buttah. Yeah, like buttah.

*sobs of joy*

previous next

Leave a note