powered by SignMyGuestbook.com



Language Log

Sunday, Dec. 16, 2007 - 8:36 a.m.

I used to read the New Zealand Herald every day. Recently I stopped. Boy, what I have been missing! I forgot that the reason I did it was because there are all these things that happen out there that the US news just doesn't cover. Especially during an election season.

The found Captain Kidd's ship off the coast of Dominica! Still full of goodies. University of Indiana folks found it, and I didn't even hear about it HERE, for cryin out loud.

A rogue elf has been writing rude letters to children in Canada. THAT'S hilarious. Although the headline was misleading, I think: the headline describes them as 'filthy' letters and 'obscene', but the example was just "this letter is too long, you dumb shit". Which is bad langauge, but not obscene. The headline had me thinking he was suggesting that the children perform acts for him. Anyway. It's funnier this way and thus I wholeheartedly support the rogue elf.

Wonder what's going on in Fiji these days.

previous next

Leave a note