powered by SignMyGuestbook.com



Language Log

Wednesday, Jan. 30, 2008 - 4:20 p.m.

Making barbecue beans today, will have them with barbecue pork (frozen and trucked back from Memphis). My first time making barbecue beans, and from the way the house smells, probably not the last.

My newest idea involves planned obsolesence in my jewelry, bt in a good way: bracelets (or whatever) only minimally coated with wheat paste and designed to slowly transform until they can be composted. Recycled paper. Cotton cord, if it's a cuff. Wheat paste (organic!), and kitchen pigmentation only (well, unless I decide to calligraph on them, in which case I will have to use ink). If I don't intend them to be permanent, then I can use dyes that won't last, and it'll be fine. There is one drying in my oven right now, dyed with tea and dusted with cinnamon and I must say it looks delicious.

I've been trying to figure out how to write up a short explanation of the concept that will properly enchant people. It's trickier than you might think, zeitgeist or no.

previous next

Leave a note