powered by SignMyGuestbook.com



Language Log

Monday, Feb. 04, 2008 - 8:29 p.m.

I'm back. We went to New Jersey for J's grandparents' 60th anniversary. We were there only one full day, arriving on Friday and leaving on Sunday. I find that that is just the right amount of time to be around family. I become filled with contradictory feelings: admiration, gratitude, scorn, exasperation, inadequacy, superiority, guilt, defiance. It's hard to manage all of them at once for very long, or to at least manage to appear at ease, pleasant, and untortured.

Anyway. Just saw Colbert's recent bit on Coral Gables, Florida. Hilarious. I am so on the side of the pickup truck guy. Those are exactly the sorts of senseless yet draconian rules that chafed me so when I lived there. IF I WANT A PURPLE HOUSE I SHOULD BE ABLE TO HAVE A PURPLE HOUSE. WITH A TRUCK PARKED IN FRONT.

So there.

previous next

Leave a note