powered by SignMyGuestbook.com



Language Log

Monday, Mar. 17, 2008 - 8:28 a.m.

Last night I dreamed that the department was having a sweepstakes of sorts; it was hosted by the former chair, or a sort of cross between the former chair and David Letterman. The idea was that they were giving away jobs; they announced how much the job would pay, and picked a name, and you came down and picked which job you wanted. This time it was $70,000, and I won! Except I didn't really want any of the jobs, even though it would have been 70k a year, for life. I didn't want to be a secretary, and the others were too specialized. Then I noticed that even participating in a psychology experiment paid the same amount, so I took that.

Except I wasn't wearing a bra, and I was a little embarrassed to be there in front of all those people, having my picture taken as the winner, bra-less. And my Swahili conversation pal was there with a friend of hers, and the friend didn't realized that my pal and I were pals, and was saying rude stuff to me. But I didn't really care, because a) I had $70,000, and b) I was preoccupied with the bra thing. I started planning how I would use the money.

Then I woke up and was disappointed to discover that I do not in fact have the money. It was going to be a bit difficult anyway, because I was trying to figure out how much I could give my mother, but still have enough for us and my business and some to put in savings.

My mother's birthday was yesterday. I called but have failed to produce card or gift. Need to work on that. She is lateness tolerant, but I should get her something. She's 78 this year.

I made some pendants with small, stylized flowers on them. They're cute, but I think I've gotten that out of my system. Thank goodness.

previous next

Leave a note