powered by SignMyGuestbook.com



Language Log

Wednesday, Apr. 09, 2008 - 8:01 p.m.

Went to a retirement reception thing today for someone in the department. My first time venturing among some of these people since I wandered off, but I like the guy retiring, so.

Thoughts:
I wish there was a way to explain that I left to make jewelry, but not the kind of jewelry you may be thinking because my jewelry rocks so hard, you have no basis of reality on which to imagine what I'm doing. I imagine them imagining me putting beads on a string. Not that there's anything wrong with that, but. I wish there were a way to make clear that that's not what I'm doing, but without sounding like an ass. Someone's always like, "Oh, I have a friend who does that." I want to be like, no you don't. You don't have I friend who does what I do, because what I do is MIND BLOWING. Or at least, not just assembling prefab components.

Also, what is up with the, "How's it going? Are you making any money at it?" (Yes, someone said that. The CHAIR said that, bless his heart) because, dude. Like I went into freaking linguistics for the money. Get real.

Anyway, they'll see. Or maybe they won't. Who gives a fuck?

previous next

Leave a note