powered by SignMyGuestbook.com



Language Log

Sunday, Apr. 20, 2008 - 10:32 a.m.

At the in-laws' this weekend for Passover. Last time, it was novel, this time it was nearly as boring as any religious ceremony, and reminded me of why I don't go to church. My brother-in-law read his designated passages with an annoying theatricality and grandeur. There was a bit where we read aloud personal details about Israelis killed over the past 10 years by Palestinian terrorists. The memories of any innocent Palestinians killed during this time (and I know there have been a few) were not invited to the table. I found this propagandistic and offensive. Ah, the ironies. My father in law is otherwise a very liberal, kind, caring person who works hard for social justice. But in this, he goes off the deep end. No one can quite figure it out. Witness the poison of certain kinds of hatred.

The internet has gone in and out, causing me some degree of panic when I wake up in the morning with no way to check my email.

Going home tonight.

previous next

Leave a note