powered by SignMyGuestbook.com



Language Log

Monday, Apr. 28, 2008 - 7:51 a.m.

The other day as I was walking campus-ward, it hit me again how very damned happy I am not to be spending these gorgeous days sitting in a classroom. For as long as I can remember, I would always look out the window in April and think, "what the hell am I doing in here?". And I was right. It's waaayyy better out amongst the redbud trees.

Spring fever has hit me though. I bought an irrational (given the space I have to install them) number of plants at the farmer's market: a 4-pack of basil, a coneflower, 2 lettuces, a rosemary, a nasturtium, a tricolor sage, two 6-packs of marigolds. I still need (want) at least lemon basil, cinnamon basil, and lavender. I guess I need to work on reclaiming the edges of the garden from the lawn.

Oh, and the mint situation. Ooohhhh the mint situation. Right now I only have black peppermint, berries -n- cream (TM) mint, chocolate mint, and apple mint. Yes, I said 'only', and I meant it. Oh, and marshmallow mint, which is the most aggressive yet useless mint I have ever met. Need to find something to do with these herbs that just aren't up to culinary snuff yet want to take over the world. Anyway, in an act of profoundly bad judgment (which J refused to talk me out of, saying that he likes mint, and yes, of course we should have more mint), I ordered 6 more plants of different varieties. I have no idea where I'm going to put them. But the nursery had a minimum order of 6 live plants, so what could I do? I'm simultaneously excited, yet ashamed. Me and my fixation on exploring all possible variations on a theme. Oh, oh for the days when mint was mint was mint.

previous next

Leave a note