powered by SignMyGuestbook.com



Language Log

Saturday, Jun. 07, 2008 - 4:53 p.m.

Had a decent day at the fest yesterday, but today, flash flooding prevented me from being able to even get to the festival site. Couldn't get ahold of anyone. Wasn't sure if the place flooded or not. The entire county is officially in a state of emergency.

Reconciled myself to the idea that I had perhaps lost all my inventory, whcih was in a box on the floor; sucks, but I was okay with that. Now, the mysteries of my psychology: the guy with the booth next to mine was kind enough to call and offer to bring my things back to me (he's from my area). After profuse thanks were given, I find myself going, "oh jeez, I hope they don't pile anything on top of my earrings." The same earrings I was just writing off as totally soggy an hour ago.

Well, of course, the difference is that now I know that everything is basically okay, and that if I could just get there myself, all could be salvaged without damage. And of course, if he's taking down my canopy for me, it leaves open the possibility of lost pieces, torn walls, and god knows what else. Not that I have any reason to think the man would be careless with my stuff, but I find that things tend to happen to my things when they are not in my possession.

Beggars can't be choosers, and it isn't clear that I can get there myself, so.

previous next

Leave a note