powered by SignMyGuestbook.com



Language Log

Wednesday, Oct. 08, 2008 - 12:16 p.m.

Still not doing much. It's rainy and wet today, not good for applying resin. So I'm brooding instead of doing anything productive.

Ugh, I don't know what to say. I like making jewelry, but trying to make it art is going to drive me over the edge before it's all over with. Trying to get a new reaction out of people. And yet make a living. I want to catch people off guard a little. Sometimes I do-- I was just astonished that I failed so utterly last weekend. People and their fucking preconceptions.

The further I take it, the fewer people can relate. The people who string beads will always have more customers.

I haven't even taken it that far. I have a vision, dammit! (Yes, I do feel like an ass for even thinking that, much less actually typing it). No, it's true: I strive for a perfect harmony among color, text, letterform, body; an emergent understanding among creator, wearer, and viewers.

But that's really hard to do, and all people really want is a cute, affordable pair of earrings that matches that new outfit. Not that there's anything wrong with that.

I want to make a small landscape that you can wear around your neck and when people look into it, they will fall in. I want to make earrings that are beautiful, then fascinating, then finally disturbing. Perhaps nauseating. I want to make a prosaic object that when you look at it, suddenly you are lonely and stricken with sadness. I want to make a pendant that will remind people that they are petty, transient beasts. Any pretty thing can make a person happy, but if I could do these things, I would be a master of my craft.

previous next

Leave a note