powered by SignMyGuestbook.com



Language Log

Saturday, Oct. 11, 2008 - 6:42 p.m.

A decent farmer's market show today. It's nice and warm, no wind, got to sit and watch people go by, occasionally exchanging objects for money. There was a giant pumpkin in a wheelbarrow. I took some photos of my booth, which I hope to god are good enough because it was my last opportunity unless I want to set the whole damn thing up in the driveway again, which I do not. I should upload them and see how they turned out.

Took a nap afterward as I am wont to do, and the kid next door started whacking at something with something. It went on for a good long while, and sticking my fingers in my ears didn't block it out. Eventually he stopped. Then when I woke up again, it occured to me that in the 4 (5?) years I have lived here, I don't think I have seen that boy smile, or heard him laugh. The more I think about it, the sadder it is.

previous next

Leave a note