powered by SignMyGuestbook.com



Language Log

Monday, Dec. 01, 2008 - 8:27 a.m.

I sent two of my sisters a promo postcard (I don't have an address for the other), and heard from one. It was nice to hear from her, but the email exchange did not unfold quite as I imagined. First she sent me a brief email to ascertain that it was indeed me, and gave a few details of her life-- she got a divorce, she still works at the real estate place. Then I email her back with further details about what I've been up to, and mention that I don't have an address for the oldest sister. I sort of expected a longer email back now that she knows it's me, but not so much. Something short, paying my jewelry a complement and mentioning that the creative gene seems to have skipped her, since the other two are also creative types. Then she says she hoped I had a good Thanksgiving (I had told her the in-laws were coming), but did not provide details about what her Thanksgiving may have been like. Well, maybe it sucked, if she's divorced now. Who knows.

Anyway, I guess a warm correspondance will not ensue. It was not unfriendly, but it wasn't quite what I was expecting. But hell, I hardly know her and not everyone is as free at expressing themselves in writing as I am. I thought she might have sent me the oldest one's address, though. I haven't seen the oldest one since I was 13. I wouldn't mind saying hi, no matter what her issues with me might be. I didn't ask, but I did hint.

Oh well, at least we're back in touch, sort of.

previous next

Leave a note