powered by SignMyGuestbook.com



Language Log

Friday, Jan. 09, 2009 - 8:13 a.m.

Yeah, I'm ok. Was a little bummed yesterday, today fine and just wanting the remnants out of me. Honestly, it's a more or less normal level of disappointment-- I think I've been more upset over some art show rejections. It helps that I haven't got a huge chunk of my self-identity wrapped up in the idea of myself as mother. Far from it.

I guess you can add ease of psychological recovery from miscarriage as another way in which traditional gender roles will fuck you up if you aren't careful. Luckily, I'm not a subscriber. Mind you, if it happens too many more times I might take a dimmer view.

So yeah, bummer, but now let's get on with it. At least now I feel more ready than before, less self-doubt about the whole thing. Hope the remnants will pass on out in a quick and relatively painless way, with no emergency rooms involved.

previous next

Leave a note