powered by SignMyGuestbook.com



Language Log

Monday, Feb. 02, 2009 - 7:23 a.m.

Oh, yesterday was rough. A piece of advice: if you ever find yourself in the unenviable position of having to wait for a natural miscarriage or go with a D and C, just go with the D and C. I have no idea how normal my experience was, but had I known, I wouldn't have wanted to risk it.

Started up with the contractions yesterday morning. They became like one nonstop contraction after about an hour. Rather abruptly started bleeding -- it was just pouring out of me. For example, I changed my pad, got up and walked to the other room to tell J that I wanted to go to the hospital, and walked back into the bathroom-- the pad had already soaked through. It was terrifying. By the time we were checking me in at the ER, I was feeling faint from bloodloss. I used to give blood on a regular basis, and I never ever felt faint after that (even when bicycling away afterward in the Florida summer sun), so I'd say I was down a bit more than a pint.

Luckily my blood pressure was stable-- just a little lower than normal-- they got some fluids into me and eventually some semieffective painkillers. I guess it wasn't that unusual or dangerous a situation, because they seemed to take their time about seeing to me (then again, my sense fo time was a little whack at this point). I think I'm pretty good at enduring pain, but this just wore me down-- no end in sight. A couple of hours later after the bleeding slowed, they sent me home with a prescription and instructions for bed rest for a couple of days (computer desk counts as bed, right?).

*whew*

Let's hope today will be better and that I'm finally done with this fucking thing.

previous next

Leave a note