powered by SignMyGuestbook.com



Language Log

Wednesday, Feb. 18, 2009 - 4:38 p.m.

I've been working busily away at my new new thing (new [new thing], that is). While I'm doing things that need to be done, I am simultaneously not doing other things that need to be done. And not organizing it very well. I don't have a grand scheme of how much of x, y, and z I need to have made by when. I'm sure to regret this later.

In additon to my new new thing, I have come up with an idea for another new thing, perhaps a [new [new [new thing]]]. I have a feeling I may be on the verge of spreading myself too thinly, to the point where I won't be able to have sufficient quantity of any particular thing because of the abundance of categories.

Well, I don't know if the newx3 thing will work out, anyway. Perhaps it is one of my passing fancies.

I'm reading a book on self-taught artists. Sociology/anthropology type thing. I may have more to say about it later. So far I have been enlightened as to the use of and disputes over the terms 'outsider art', 'folk art', 'art brut', 'vernacular art', and 'self-taught art'. Summary: they are all problematic.

previous next

Leave a note