powered by SignMyGuestbook.com



Language Log

Friday, Mar. 13, 2009 - 10:27 a.m.

Today the lemon basil seeds I planted over the weekend have started to germinate. Exciting! Not a peep out of the sweet basil, peppers, or morning glory, though. But those are slow to germinate, I'm told. I have them in plastic tubs of various sorts-- egg cartons, sour cream tubs, a take out salad container. With plastic over them as I'm told is helpful. Some of them are just getting a bit moldy on top. That can't be good.

I have ambitions about starting a new bed in the back/side yard, which gets a lot of nice southern sun and also happens to be my least favorite part of the yard to mow. These are, however, large ambitions and I worry that I would not carry through. Just lay newspaper, kill off a 10x15 foot area, then fail to cover with soil and jsut end up with a citation from the city for having a dead lawn.

If I plant anything, it should be the slope. I hate mowing the slope. I should cover the whole damn thing in mother of thyme. The bees would love me.

previous next

Leave a note