powered by SignMyGuestbook.com



Language Log

Saturday, Apr. 18, 2009 - 8:00 a.m.

Yesterday I:
1. made 2 pendants and half a list of things to do.
2. Built part of a retaining wall along the driveway.
3. Mowed half of the back yard.
4. Canned cannelini beans.
5. Made yogurt.

The yogurt is worth saying more about. I normally buy the really good kind from Traderspoint Creamery. It comes in these glass milk jars and I can never get all of it out, so I thought, hey, I should just add some milk to the jar and make new yogurt from the leftovers. It turned out not bad-- not anywhere near as good as the original (I don't know what they do to make it so good), but not bad. It's probably the milk. They use their own grassfed organic milk; I used store brand. Anyway. Once I put the jam in, it's passable, and I've just saved myself almost $6. I feel kind of jerky, not supporting the local place, but. I'm sure it will not be the last of the yogurt I buy from them. It's so good.

Oh, what I did: Brought milk to 185 degrees, cooled to 114. Poured it into the yogurt jar and popped it into a styrofoam cooler (yes, the same cooler I insisted we not throw out because I might use it someday! See, it does happen sometimes) with another jar full of warm water. Put the lid on, left it there. I checked it first at 5 hours and nothing had happened, so I put newly warmed water in the warming bottle and left it there another 8 hours.

I'm gonna be one yogurt-eatin fool now. Also, farmer's market today! 1. spinach 2. salad greens 3. sweet potatoes 4. parsely plants (3-pack) 5. Kale plants (4-pack) I managed to get there and back before the 5k went by-- our garage backs out onto their route and when there's a run, I'm stuck at home until every straggler has passed.

previous next

Leave a note